Polishing up Genevieve

So, I’ve been away for a short while. My eleven year old son has been wanting to read my book, The Silent Life of Genevieve, and every time I tell him it’s not for kids. I felt horrible because here he is, admiring me and wanting to write stories himself, and he can’t even read my book. SO…I rewrote/re-edited my novel to fit a pre-teen. It wasn’t easy. He didn’t want me to change it much but I had to. Those who will read my book, will know why. I guess at the end, it’s safe to say it’s geared for ages 14+. I’m allowing my son to read it though because it’s no different than what is shown on tv nowadays. Plus, my son is a pretty mature eleven year old. I left a few bad words in there but did get the “F” words out. I also made it about physical abuse such as “beatings” rather than “rape”.

So, all this took me a while to do. As I was re-editing, I noted there were several mistakes. I had submitted my story to the 24th Annual Writer’s Digest Self-Published Book Awards and as per the judges comments, I decided to go ahead and fix the errors found by the judge. I’ve probably read the novel about ten times, if not more, I’m frankly seeing spots! And I forgot how to spell. LOL

It’s funny how you can write a book and then wonder if you misspelled “which” or get confused with your commas,;…—lol.

Nevertheless, it is finished. I’m hoping there will be no more errors but if there are, I know they’re minor…maybe a misplaced comma?

If anyone would be interested in this PG13 edition, let me know and I’ll add it to my book store. I’ve entitled it The Silent Life of Genevieve – Everett Edition. =)

Author: Emma G Prince

I am an aspiring writer (*wink), a mother of three perfect boys, a wife to a super hot mechanic, and daughter to the best parents in the whole world. Sounds too good to be true? HA! That's because it is! =D

Leave a Reply

